Setting Goals to Meet my Goals

Ever since I was a young boy I have always had issues with focusing.  Going to school in the 70’s and 80’s, there was never any talk about ADD or Ritalin.  Instead my parents taught me to use the analog clock to gauge my progress through the school day and I got the natural consequence of poor grades (sometimes) when I was ill prepared.  Luckily for me school, with the exception of math, came easily to me and I could wing it better than most could study.  Lucky I thought back then, but it set up a life long pattern of winging it instead of fully preparing.

It is amazing how long someone can live with a certain pattern and never fully understand the reasoning behind it.  For me it was the path of least resistance, and because I could do quite well in most cases, I was able to succeed.  But as I have grown older I’ve realized that I have become a Jack of all trades, but a master of none, with one exception.  I have many interests and grow bored easily.  I switch from activity to activity, learning and enjoying, but soon allowing life and my natural inclination to move on to stop me from achieving my final goals.  I do set goals for myself, but the one part of goal setting that I consistently fail at is planning.

Once again I am attempting to learn Spanish, and the thought above about master of none really started me thinking.  I am disappointed with myself that I do not achieve the goals I set when it comes to learning new skills. It made me reevaluate my strategy; how much time I waste doing inane activities such as Candy Crush instead of being productive with my time and energy.  So, I am resolving to plan to succeed instead of not planning to fail.  I will soon be completing the last course I need for my second Master’s degree, and have decided to plan my leisure time like I plan my school or work time.  While I want it to be fun, without consistency I will never get to enjoy the fruits of my efforts. It is often said that the first step of achieving your goals is writing them down.  To that end, here is my short list in no particular order:

1.  Become fluent in at least one foreign language

2.  Become proficient at playing a musical instrument

3.  Reach the intermediate level in tap dancing

4.  Achieve black belt status in a martial art

5.  Train my dog to run an agility course.

6. Continue blogging at least three times a week.

 

Leave a Reply

